The private data Chrome collects includes your location, search and browsing history, user identifiers and product interaction data for “personalisation” purposes. A lot of this data is then sent directly to Google. Even if you’re browsing in private mode, Google can see everything you do online. This allows Google to build up a detailed and sophisticated picture about your personality, interests, vulnerabilities and triggers.

When you sync your Google account to your Chrome browser, the information from other Google-owned services (Gmail, Google Search, etc.) combines to form an uncomfortably accurate picture of your personal online habits. Chrome data can be added to your geolocation history from Google Maps, the metadata from your Gmail usage, and the apps you use and the products you buy via Google Pay. This creates a very clear picture of who you are and how you live your life.

How to check which data is collected by Chrome?

1) Log into your Google account.

2) In the navigation panel, click on Data & privacy.

3) Under "Your data & privacy options," select Data from apps and services you use

4) To check your collected data, select Content saved from Google services.

How to delete your Chrome browser history

1) Open Google Chrome.

2) Click on the three dots in the top right of your screen.

3) Select More from the upper right corner (the button with the three vertical dots).

4) Click on History and a page with the data about your web surfing activity with a time range will show up.

5) Select the Clear browsing history button.